160th SOAR

About the 160th SOAR

The United States Army 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment (Airborne), also known as Night Stalkers, is a special operations force that provides helicopter aviation support for general purpose forces and special operations forces. Its mission types include attack, assault, and reconnaissance, and are usually conducted at night, at high speeds, and low altitudes. The Regiment consists of three squadrons: 1st Squadron, 2nd Squadron, and 3rd Squadron, each with its own vehicle type designation.

Entry Requirements

All soldiers receive intensive training prior to joining the 160th and are required to pass Basic Military Training (BMT); Green Platoon Course (GPC); and Survival, Evasion, Resistance, & Escape (SERE). The basic Night Stalker course for officers lasts three days. A new Night Stalker arrives to his unit Basic Mission Qualified (BMQ), after a series of test qualifications, experience and leadership, the Night Stalker is then designated Fully Mission Qualified (FMQ).


The 160th SOAR uses 4 types of helicopter with different variants of some.

  • A/MH-9J Little Bird
    • AH-9J Attack Helicopter
    • MH-9J Mobile Helicopter
  • RAH-66 Comanche
  • MH-47G Chinook
  • MH-60 Black Hawk
    • MH-60L
    • MH-60K